NPP Elects Dr. Bawumia As New Flagbearer For Election 2024

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has elected the sitting Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia as its new leader and flagbearer for the upcoming 2024 presidential elections.

Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, emerged victorious with 61.47% in the NPP primaries, securing the party’s nomination for the race to the presidency.

The certified results announced by a deputy Commissioner of the Electoral Commission, Dr Serebour Quaicoe, disclosed that Dr Bawumia polled 118, 210 votes representing 61.47%, while his closest contender Kennedy Agyapong, polled 71,996 votes representing 37.41%.

Dr. Afriyie Akoto, who placed a distant third polled 1,459 votes representing 0.76%, while Addai-Nimoh managed only 731 votes representing 0.41%.

In all, 192,446 delegates voted in Saturday’s presidential primary, with total valid votes being 193, 346. 900 votes were rejected, and turnout stood at 94.63%.

Dr. Bawumia’s journey to become the governing party’s flagbearer was not without intense competition and political drama, including a strong challenge from Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, and the fallout from the Super Delegates’ Conference.

The rivalry: Dr Bawumia vs. Kennedy Ohene Agyapong

The NPP primaries leading up to the 2024 election were marked by fierce competition between Dr Mahamudu Bawumia and Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, a prominent party member and Member of Parliament.

Mr Agyapong, known for his strong stance on issues and a vocal presence within the party, presented a formidable challenge.

Despite his spirited campaign, Dr Bawumia’s extensive experience as Vice President and a carefully managed campaign helped him secure the nomination.

Kennedy Ohene Agyapong’s spirited run for the NPP flagbearer position demonstrated the party’s internal dynamics and the diversity of voices within it.

While Agyapong was unsuccessful in securing the nomination, his contribution to the NPP’s political landscape remains significant.

Fallout from the Super Delegates Conference

In a surprising turn of events, the fallout from the Super Delegates conference led to a major political shakeup within the NPP.

Alan Kyerematen, a prominent figure in the party and a former Trade and Industry Minister, decided to part ways with the NPP.

Mr Kyerematen, expressing dissatisfaction with the party’s internal processes, alleged that the presidential primary was being skewed to favour an established candidate.

His decision to exit the NPP and create his own party, the Movement for Unity, underscored the divisions and tensions within the NPP.

His departure not only marked a significant loss for the party but also served as a reminder of the complexities involved in managing a diverse political landscape.

The battle ahead: Bawumia vs. Mahama

With Dr Mahamudu Bawumia securing the NPP’s flagbearer position, the stage is set for an intense and closely watched presidential race in 2024.

Bawumia, an economist and experienced politician, will go head-to-head with John Mahama, the leader of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), in a bid to lead the country.

Ghana’s 2024 presidential election promises to be a contest of ideas, policy proposals, and political visions. Bawumia’s background in economic policy and governance will be at the forefront, as he aims to lead the country with a platform centred on economic growth, development, and stability.

John Mahama, a former president and experienced statesman, will present his own vision for Ghana’s future.

Dr Mahamudu Bawumia’s victory in the NPP primaries is a significant development in Ghana’s political landscape, setting the stage for an exciting and competitive 2024 presidential election.

The fallout from the Super Delegates conference and Alan Kyerematen’s departure serve as reminders of the complexities and diversity within political parties.

As the two major political parties, the NPP and NDC, prepare to battle it out at the polls, Ghanaians can look forward to a campaign that will shape the nation’s future and determine its path for the years to come.






About admin

Check Also

Asene Manso Akroso MP Honours Over 30 Best Teachers

The New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) MP for the Asene Manso Akroso constituency, Mr. George Kwame …