Eastern Region: See List Of Winners In NPP Parliamentary Primaries In Orphan Constituencies

The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Saturday went to the polls to elect parliamentary candidates for the 2024 general election in constituencies where the party has no members of parliament (MP), also referred to as orphan constituencies.

The elections took place in 111 constituencies across the 16 regions with a total of 321 aspirants vying for the single slot in the constituencies where the elections were held.

The delegates for the elections were polling station and constituency executives, electoral area coordinators, Council of Elders, Council of patrons, founder members [if any] and MPs [if any].


Nineteen aspirants slugged it out in six constituencies in the Eastern Region and they were Lower Manya Krobo, Ayensuano, Akwatia, Afram Plains North, Asuogyaman and Afram Plains South.

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Youth Authority (NYA), Pius Enam Hadzide has won the NPP parliamentary primaries held for orphan constituencies to become the party’s parliamentary candidate (PC) for the 2024 elections in the Asuogyaman Constituency.

The aspiring legislature won the keenly contested internal election after garnering 423 votes.

His other contenders including former Technical Advisor to the Transport Ministry and NPP Parliamentary Candidate for the 2020 elections, Paul Asare Ansah polled 131 votes.

CEO of the Ghana Integrated Aluminium Development Corporation, Chief Michael Ansah also had 113 votes with the CEO of the National Premix fuel Secretariat, Nana Abrokwa Asare garnering 95 votes.

The newly elected PC in his victory speech, extended his gratitude to the other contenders, adding that there were no losers in the contest.

According to him, the real daunting task lay ahead with hardwork being the only way out.

He, therefore, called for unity ahead of next year’s general elections

Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts, and Culture, Mark Okraku-Mantey, faced defeat in his quest to become the parliamentary candidate for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Ayensuano constituency in the Eastern Region.

In the orphan constituencies’ parliamentary elections held on Saturday, December 2, Okraku-Mantey garnered 136 votes, while his opponent, Ida Adwoa Asiedu, emerged victorious with 410 votes. Other aspirants, Ernest Addo and Kingsley Boateng Adomah, secured 4 and 3 votes, respectively.

Akwatia results

Ernest Kumi – 330 (winner)

Mercy Adu Gyamfi a.k.a. Ama Sey – 268

Obeng Daquah Castro – 0


Asuogyaman results

Pius Enam Hadzide – 423 (winner)

Paul Asare Ansah -131

Michael Ansah – 113

Nana Abrokwa Asare – 95


Lower Manya Krobo results

Simon Kweku Tetteh (MCE) – 434 (winner)

Linda Adadevoh – 219

Robert Tetteyfio Adjase – 149


Afram Plains South results

Zineyele Jacob – 362 (winner)

Williams Hor – 246


Ayensuano results

Samuel Ayeh Paye – 105

Okraku Mantey – 136

Kingsley Boateng – 3

Ernest Addo – 4

Ida Adjoa Asiedu – 410 (winner)


Source: Ahenkanfmonline.com / 93.3 FM / Election Mid-Point


About admin

Check Also

President Akufo-Addo Reshuffles Finally: See Who Is In, Who Is Out

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has removed the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori Atta in a …