NPP Parliamentary Primaries: Akyemansa Block Complete Results

The Controller and Accountant General of Ghana, Kwasi Kwaning-Bosompem faced disappointment as he lost the NPP parliamentary primary in Akim Swedru.

In the closely-watched contest, Kwaning-Bosompem secured 94 votes, while the incumbent MP, Kennedy Osei Nyarko, emerged victorious with 194 votes. Okyere Jerome Kwame polled 10 votes.

The chairperson of the Roads and Transport Committee, Kennedy Osei Nyarko, also known as “Adwumawura,” has been a member of parliament for the Akim Swedru Constituency since 2012.

Thus, if he wins the general election, it will be his fourth term in parliament.

The public’s interest in the parliamentary race was sparked by the Controller and Accountant General’s declarations of fascination.

Despite receiving endorsements from high-profile personalities, politicians, religious leaders, and civil society organizations, he faced opposition, with some calling for his resignation or removal from office.

The Alliance for Social Equity and Public Accountability (ASEPA) of Ghana demanded his immediate removal, alleging a breach of the Civil Service Act, PNDC Law 327.

Adding to the challenges, the Member of Parliament for South Dayi, Rockson-Nelson Dafeamekpor, filed a lawsuit against Mr. Kwaning-Bosompem on January 10, 2024.

The Akyemansa Block: NPP Parliamentary Primaries

In the parliamentary primaries held on Saturday, January 27, 2024, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) elected four of the six sitting Members of Parliament (MPs) in the Akyemansa block of the Eastern Region as its parliamentary candidates.

While one of the candidates lost his bid to become a lawmaker in 2025, the other was deemed to have no opposition.

The victorious legislators are Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, the MP for Ofoase-Ayirebi, who is also the Minister of Information; Kofi Ahenkorah Marfo, the MP for Akyem Achiase; Kennedy Osei Nyarko, the MP for Akyem Swedru; and George Kwame Aboagye, the MP for Asene-Akroso-Manso.


Ofoase-Ayirebi: With 378 votes, Mr. Oppong-Nkrumah defeated his two opponents, Eric Owusu-Mensah, the recently retired Deputy Clerk of Ghana’s Parliament, with 92 votes, and Michael Osei Gyamenah of the Ghana Revenue Authority in Accra with 100 votes.


Akyem Achiase: Mr. Ahenkorah Marfo trounced his three competitors with 220 votes: George Niako, commonly referred to as Bulk Money, garnered 142 votes; Emmanuel Kwabena Brako obtained 19; Samuel Okyere Donkor got 7; and Benedicta Biamah Adom received just 1 vote.


Akyem Swedru: Mr. Kennedy Osei Nyarko vanquished his two challengers with 194 votes; his biggest competitor, Controller and Accountant General Kwasi Kwaning-Bosompem, got 94 votes, and private businessman Jerome Okyere Akordor of Accra got 10 votes.


Asene/Akroso/Manso: With a margin of 362 votes to 151, George Aboagye easily defeated Alex Owusu-Adjei, the only opponent he faced.


Akyem Oda: The incumbent, Alexander Akwasi Acquah, was declared unopposed after his challenger, Dennis Obeng Agyei, was disqualified by the National Appeals Committee of the NPP.


Abirem: The only unfortunate lawmaker from the Akyemansa block to lose the parliamentary primary was John Osei Frimpong. Ghana’s Ambassador to South Africa, Charles Asuoko Owiredu, secured 192 votes in the parliamentary primary to beat the incumbent MP, Osei Frimpong, and two others, namely Frank Ahimah-Mireku and Daniel Kwadwo Afrifah, who garnered 116, 148, and 56 votes, respectively.


Source: / 93.3 FM / Elections Mid-Point

About admin

Check Also

President Akufo-Addo Reshuffles Finally: See Who Is In, Who Is Out

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has removed the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori Atta in a …